88Nine Radio Milwaukee

Today's stream is sponsored by Maxie's

Spiritualized on World Cafe | August 27, 2012

tmoody's picture
Click to enlarge

Sweet Heart Sweet Light, the new album by the English space-rock band Spiritualized, was recorded while frontman Jason Pierce was undergoing chemotherapy for liver disease. Pierce set out to craft the record as a clear-cut pop record in between hospital stays, and though he says he isn't convinced he succeeded, most of the album is composed of could-be Top 10 radio hits from the early '70s. The album's first single, "Hey Jane," is a love song with many parts, but it sounds like a classic-rock hit, complete with guitar-based interludes and organ riffs.

In this World Cafe session with host David Dye, Pierce explains how the process of recording Sweet Heart Sweet Light served as a worthwhile distraction from his medical treatments.

This episode originally aired on June 7, 2012. (link)


(( )) for interlude music


Washed Out “Eyes Be Closed” Within and Without
Jack White “I’m Shakin’” Blunderbuss
The Band “The Shape I’m In” To Kingdom Come
Edwin Hawkins Singers “Oh Happy Day” Soul Hits of the 70s
((Spiritualized “Mary” Recorded Live for the World Café))
Spiritualized “Hey Jane” Recorded Live for the World Café
Spiritualized “I Am What I Am” Recorded Live for the World Café
Spiritualized “Mary” Recorded Live for the World Café
((Spiritualized “Hey Jane” Recorded Live for the World Café))
Yeasayer “Longevity” Fragrant World
Brian Eno “Been There Done That” Wrong Way Up
Gary Clark Jr “Bright Lights” Bright Lights EP


Lloyd Cole & the Commotion “Brand New Friend” 1984-1989
Matthew E White “One of These Days” Big Inner
Matthew E White “Will You Love Me” Big Inner
Mumford & Sons “I Will Wait” Babel
Crowded House “It’s Only Natural” Woodface
The Lumineers “Morning Song” The Lumineers
((Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit “The Last Song I Will Write” Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit))
Field Report “I Am Not Waiting Anymore” Field Report
Phosphorescent “Nothing was Stolen (Love Me Foolishly)” Here’s to Taking it Easy
((Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros “Om Nashi Me” Up From Below))
Passion Pit “Take a Walk” Gossamer
Gorillaz “Stylo” Plastic Beach
My Morning Jacket “Off the Record” Z
Death Cab for Cutie “You’re a Tourist” Codes and Keys