88Nine Radio Milwaukee

Today's stream is sponsored by Maxie's

Dr. Dog

Support 88Nine And This Artist:

Dr. Dog is a indie rock group from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania which formed in 1999. The current lineup consists of Scott "Taxi" McMicken (vocals, guitar), Toby "Tables" Leaman (vocals, bass), Zach "Text" Miller (keyboards, guitar), Frank "Thanks" McElroy (guitar) and Eric "Teach" Slick (drums). "There's a little folk, blues, indie rock, soul, bluegrass--and a whole lot of down-home harmonizing. It conjures images of old friends sitting on a porch swapping instruments and just letting the tape recorder run." - Doug Wallen Dr. Dog has been creating music in various incarnations for four years now. Beginning with The Psychedelic Swamp, a concept album realized in the damp ruin of a flooded basement with waterlogged guitars and a digital delay pedal, the band has simmered on the back burner of our musical lives for most of its existence but we've recently renewed our resolve to forge ahead and give Dr. Dog the attention we think it deserves. Although Dr. Dog has as many as 20 honorary "members" who have assisted in various (mostly spiritual) capacities through the years, the core of the band consists of five musicians. Our standard instrumentation includes two guitars, bass, drums, keyboard and three part harmonies. The Beach Boys, The Beatles, Tom Waits, David Bowie and Neil Young are influences, but we would be remiss in not acknowledging our debt to Pavement, Palace Brothers, R. Stevie Moore or Roy Wood. Currently, the lineup is as such: Toby Leaman on bass and singing, Scott McMicken on woof+mud distortion solo guitar and voice, Frank McElroy on lean clean occasionally tremolo'd guitar, Zach Miller on keyboard(s) and Eric Slick on drums. We've all done our share of playing. Toby and Scott have played together in a myriad of bands including Raccoon, Unleash the Bastards, and Beard; Andrew played bass in Raccoon and managed the phenomenal The Teeth; Zach has played with Bradford Trojan and Traffic Jam and studied jazz guitar. Aside from the aforementioned Swamp album - a self-produced, self-recorded low-fi four track recording - we have two other recordings. Toothbrush is a compilation of fourth generation eight-track recordings culled from the past few years. Easy Beat was the first proper record, followed by the 2006 EP Takers and Leavers and two full-length albums, 2006's We All Belong and 2008's Fate. The latest release is called Shame, Shame, and was released April 6th, 2010. Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Tracks We Played

Distant Light (Live at 88Nine)

Studio Milwaukee Volume: 4
Last Played on April 01, 2015 8:20am

The Breeze

Last Played on December 27, 2014 10:23am

The Truth

Last Played on September 14, 2014 4:00am

Shadow People

Shame Shame
Last Played on May 11, 2014 8:45pm


Be The Void
Last Played on April 14, 2014 4:36am

Distant Light

Last Played on March 03, 2014 12:59pm


Shame Shame
Last Played on January 25, 2014 2:10pm

Where'd All the Time Go?

Shame, Shame
Last Played on January 25, 2014 11:12am

Broken Heart

Last Played on January 22, 2014 2:07pm

That Old Black Hole

Be The Void
Last Played on January 09, 2014 5:51am


Live At The World Cafe, 20th Anniversary Edition


Heart It Races EP