88Nine Radio Milwaukee

Today's stream is sponsored by Maxie's

The Last Shadow Puppets

Support 88Nine And This Artist:

The Last Shadow Puppets is a band that consists of Alex Turner of Sheffield band Arctic Monkeys and Miles Kane of The Rascals. They released their debut album, The Age of the Understatement, on the 21st of April 2008 in the UK, and May 6th in the U.S. The album also features James Ford (producer and half of the duo Simian Mobile Disco) and string arrangements from Owen Pallett a.k.a Final Fantasy. The album went straight to number one in the UK Albums Chart. The first single, "The Age of the Understatement" was released the week before on 14 April, with new song "Two Hearts in Two Weeks" and covers of Billy Fury's "Wondrous Place" and David Bowie's "In the Heat of the Morning" (a song previously mentioned by Turner as a favourite) as b-sides.The duo have said they took inspiration from Scott Walker and early Bowie. The second single, "Standing Next to Me", was released on 7 July 2008. The third single from the album will be "My Mistakes Were Made for You". The album was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Music Prize.

Tracks We Played

Standing Next To Me

The Age of the Understatement