Ninja Tune’s Coldcut takes over Rhythm Lab’s 15th anniversary show

Ninja Tune’s Coldcut takes over Rhythm Lab’s 15th anniversary show

640 360

On July 31, 2005, Rhythm Lab Radio was born. The first show aired on The Current, a radio station in the Twin Cities. And on this day in 2020, we celebrate the show’s 15th anniversary with a very special takeover from the founders of amazing Ninja Tune Records, the duo known as Coldcut. One of Rhythm Lab Radio’s first-ever interview was with Coldcut’s Matt Black and Jonathan More many moons ago.

Coldcut’s Matt Black and Jonathan More

The first hour features a mix from Matt Black, which includes tracks from Fela Kuti, Herbie Hancock, Julio Bashmore and more. Then Jonathan More takes over the second hour with cuts from Tony Allen, Amadou Et Mariam, and Coldcut’s latest collaborative project Keleketla!

Keleketla! is an expansive collaborative project, reaching outward from Johannesburg to London, Lagos, L.A. and West Papua, “Keleketla!” started as a musical meeting ground between Ninja Tune co-founders Coldcut and a cadre of South African musicians (introduced by the charity In Place Of War), including the raw, South African-accented jazz styles of Sibusile Xaba, and rapper Yugen Blakrok (Black Panther OST).


Beyonce, Shatta Wale, Major Lazer – “Already”

Coldcut’s Matt Black Mix

Fela Kuti – “My Lady Frustration”
Antibalas – “Gabe’s New Joint”
Orquesta Greg Segura – “Africa Pop”
William Onyeabor – “Body and Soul”
Malcolm X – “No Sell Out”
Herbie Hancock – “Doin’ It”
Hugh Masekela – “Mace & Grenades”
Sphectacula and DJ Naves – “Bhampa” feat. Beast TipCee and DJ Tira
Instra:menatl – “Thomp”
Owiny Sigoma Band – “Nyiduonge Drum”
Fela Kuti – “I.T.T.”
Julio Bashmore – “Um Bongo’s Revenge”
SHALT – “Ganymede Impactor”
Kwesta, DJ Maphorisa, Stilo Magolide, DJ Catzico, Zingah – “Oncamnce”
Keleketla! – “Future Toyi Toyi (Jamm Mix)”
Uncle Bakongo – “Afar”
Ezra Collective – “Colonial Mentality”
-end of mix-
Bernard Wright – “Haboglabotribin”


Moonchild Sanelly, Busiswa, Tierra Whack, Yemi Alade, Beyoncé, DJ Lag, Nija Charles – “My Power”

Coldcut’s Jonathan More Mix

Bayete – “Soul Makossa”
Tony Allen – “Nepa (Dance Dub)”
Amadou Et Mariam – “Bara”
Femi Kuti – “Sorry Sorry”
Zakia Percussion – “Lagos Nigeria”
Tony Allen – “Moyege”
Keleketla Ft Watts Prophets – “Freedom Groove”
Blay Ambolley – “Afrika Yie”
Bro. Valentino – “Ah Wo (Brand New Revolution)”
-end of mix-
Ray Camacho – “Movin’ On”

88Nine Radio Milwaukee