Lucy Dacus announces new song ‘Hot & Heavy,’ new album ‘Home Video’ and a tour

Lucy Dacus announces new song ‘Hot & Heavy,’ new album ‘Home Video’ and a tour

427 640

This morning we aired the world premiere of Lucy Dacus’ new song “Hot & Heavy,” which is officially out now. As part of the premiere, Lucy recorded some thoughts on her new song.

“‘Hot & Heavy’ is a song that I thought I was writing about an old friend, but by the time I finished I realized that it was just about me & about growing into someone I didn’t expect to be & how, when I was a teen i thought I would be a certain person & now I’m much different from that idea of who I might be & how that sort of feels like a betrayal & it’s also kind of embarrassing to think about how an old version of me might not approve of who I am now. I’m also a big journal-er so I have a pretty big memory bank of things that happened and I connect those memories to places pretty heavily. So the song is a lot about going back to places from my childhood and feeling like less of a real version of myself in the present day. Like the past version of me holds more weight than who I am today, which is a very disorienting feeling.”

The song will be on her new album “Home Video,” which will be out on June 25 via Matador. “Home Video” was built on Dacus’ interrogation of her coming-of-age years in Richmond, Va. Many of the songs start the way a memoir might, and all of them have the compassion, humor and honesty of the best autobiographical writing. These songs capture that specific moment in time growing up where emotions and relationships start becoming more complex. They capture the joys, the excitement, the confusion, and even the heartbreak of going through the process of discovering who you are and where people fit in your life and where you fit in theirs. Most importantly and mysteriously, this album displays Dacus’s ability to use the personal as portal into the universal.

Hone Video cover artwork

Lucy Dacus has also announced a tour.

Home Video Tour:
(on sale Fri. April 16 @ 10am local time)
Fri. Sept. 10 – Richmond, VA @ The National
(Julien Baker Headline/Lucy Support, + special guests)
Sat. Sept. 11 – Richmond, VA @ The National
(Lucy Headline/Julien Baker Support, + special guests)
Mon. Sept. 13 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom %
Tue. Sept. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Wed. Sept. 15 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl %
Fri. Sept. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Trees %
Sat. Sept. 18 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall- Downstairs %
Sun. Sept. 19 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn %
Mon. Sept. 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger %
Wed. Sept. 22 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole %
Fri. Sept. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel %
Sat. Sept. 25 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory OC %
Mon. Sept. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore %
Thu. Sept. 30 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre $
Fri. Oct. 1 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom $
Sat. Oct. 2 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre $
Tue. Oct. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge $
Fri. Oct. 8 – Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theatre $
Sat. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue $
Mon. Oct. 11 – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre $
Tue. Oct. 12 – Columbus , OH @ Newport Music Hall $
Thu. Oct. 14 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House $
Fri. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ L’Astral $
Sat. Oct. 16 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues $
Mon. Oct. 18 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground $
Wed. Oct. 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^
Fri. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club $
Mon. Oct. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel

% = w/ Bachelor
$ = w/ Bartees Strange
^ = w/ Shamir

88Nine Radio Milwaukee