Franklin’s Milky Way Drive-In is screening horror classics all month

Franklin’s Milky Way Drive-In is screening horror classics all month

640 360

If nothing else, 2020 has been a banner year for drive-in theaters. They’ve popped up all over the country, including in Franklin, where the city’s Ballpark Commons created the first Milwaukee-area drive-in in nearly 20 years, Milky Way Drive-In.

This month the Drive-In is debuting some special programming for Halloween. Thursday through Sundays will be “Fright Nights” at the drive-in, featuring a mix of modern and classic horror movies for both kids and adults. The lineup is impressive, with selection ranging from “Ghostbusters” and “Beetlejuice” to “Happy Death Day,” “The Ring,” “It” and “The Babadook.”

“The Strangers”

Admission is $35 per car per screening (with the exceptions of Thursdays, which are double features). Tickets can be purchased at the theater’s website, and food and drinks will be sold through the ballpark’s concessions stands and from food trucks via app. There will be several ways to listen to the movies, either through outdoor speakers, the radio or an app.

The complete schedule is below.

Thursday, Oct. 1 (double feature)

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Sinister”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “The Strangers”

Friday, Oct. 2

  • 9:30 p.m. – “Freddy vs. Jason”

Saturday, Oct. 3

  • 9:15 p.m. – “Sleepy Hollow”

Sunday, Oct. 4

  • 5 p.m. – “Corpse Bride”

Thursday, Oct. 8 (double feature)

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Happy Death Day”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “Room 237”

Friday, Oct. 9 

  • 6:30 p.m. – “The Goonies”
  • 9:15: p.m. – “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre” (the remake)

Saturday, Oct. 10

  • 5 p.m. – “The Addams Family” (the 2019 animated movie)
  • 7:45 p.m. – “The Ring”
  • 10:30 p.m. – “It”

Sunday, Oct. 11

  • 5 p.m. – “Goosebumps”

Thursday, Oct. 15 (double feature)

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Scream”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “It: Chapter Two”

Friday, Oct. 16

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “Friday the 13th” (remake)

Saturday, Oct. 17

  • 7:45 p.m. – “Insidious”
  • 10:30 p.m. – “The Invisible Man”

Sunday, Oct. 18

  • 5 pm. – “Monster House”

Thursday, Oct. 22 (double feature)

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Ghostbusters”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “The Purge: Election Year”

Friday, Oct. 23

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Beetlejuice”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “The Blair Witch Project”

Saturday, Oct. 24

  • 5 p.m. – “The Spiderwick Chronicles”
  • 7:45 p.m. – “Lights Out”
  • 10:30 p.m. – “Halloween” (2018)

Sunday, Oct. 25

  • 5 p.m. – “Hotel Transylvania”

Thursday, Oct. 29 (double feature)

  • 6:30 p.m. – “The Babadook”
  • 9:15 p.m. – “The Conjuring”

Friday, Oct. 30

  • 6:30 p.m. – “Ghostbusters”

Saturday, Oct. 31

  • 5 p.m. – “Casper”
  • 7:45 p.m. – “The Cabin in the Woods”
  • 10:30 p.m. – “Jigsaw”

Sunday, Nov. 1

  • 5 p.m. – “The Addams Family”
88Nine Radio Milwaukee