Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Don't Sleep On: N.A.S.A.

The Spirit of Apollo Mini DocumentaryWhat do get when you put Method Man, MIA, Santogold, Lykke Li, Kanye West, E40, David Byrne, Chali 2na, Z-Trip, RZA, KRS-One, Lovefoxxx from CSS, Sizzla, Amanda Blank, George Clinton, The Cool Kids, Spank Rock, Scarface, Tom Waits and Kool Keith on one album, probably one of 2009's most hyped and anticipated album from a group that you may not be to familar with. The group is N.A.S.A. (North America South America). N.A.S.A. is duo consisting of Sam Spiegel aka Squeak E. Clean (brother of video director Spike Jonze) and Ze Gonzales aka DJ Zegon. N.A.S.A. is an international collective of musicians spanning a wide spectrum of musical genres. The name of their forthcoming album will be called The Spirit of Apollo. This album has been in the works for over a year and will be released in February 2009.They currently have video for the song Money featuring David Byrne, Chuck D, Seu Jorge, Ras Congo and Z-Trip.Recently another track from their album leaked. The cut is entitled "Gifted" and it features Kanye West, Santogold, and Swedish sensation Lykke Li. Check it out below.N.A.S.A. - "Gifted feat. Kanye West, Santogold, & Lykke Li"

At first they sampled rare Brazilian records from the 60's and 70's to make tracks. However, what started as two crate diggers making music for the fun of it soon developed into something much bigger. Having forged a strong friendship through their passion for music, Sam and Ze decided to make a record with all of their heroes and favorite musicians. The idea was to bring people from different worlds together through their shared inspiration and love of music. Thus, N.A.S.A. was born, with crazy collaborations like Ol' Dirty Bastard (Wu-Tang Clan), Karen O (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), and Fatlip (Pharcyde) on one track, David Byrne (Talking Heads), Chali 2na (Jurassic 5), and Gift of Gab (Blackalicious) on another, and even a pairing of Tom Waits with Kool Keith.
Here is a little megamix from the forthcoming album mixed by Squeak E. CleanMegamix Tracklisting 01 The People Tree 02 Strange Enough 03 NASA Music 04 Money 05 There's a Party 06 Way Down Here is the tracklisting for the album Spirit of Apollo1. "Intro"2. "The People Tree" (feat. David Byrne, Chali 2na, Gift of Gab,& Z-Trip)3. "Money" (feat. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge, & Z-Trip)4. "NASA Music" (feat. Method Man, E-40, & DJ Swamp)5. "Way Down" (feat. RZA, Barbie Hatch, & John Frusciante)6. "Hip Hop" (feat. KRS-One, Fatlip, & Slim Kid Tre)7. "Four Rooms, Earth View"8. "Strange Enough" (feat. Karen O, Ol' Dirty Bastard, & Fatlip)9. "Spacious Thoughts" (feat. Tom Waits & Kool Keith)10. "Gifted" (feat. Kanye West, Lykke Li & Santogold)11. "A Volta" (feat. Sizzla, Amanda Blank, & Lovefoxxx)12. "There's a Party" (feat. George Clinton & Chali 2na)13. "Whachadoin?" (feat. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santogold & Nick Zinner)14. "O Pato" (feat. Kool Kojak & DJ Bboa)15. "Samba Soul" (feat. Del Tha Funkee Homosapien & DJ Qbert)16. "The Mayor" (feat. The Cool Kids, Ghostface Killah, DJ AM & Scarface)17. "N.A.S.A. Anthem"I was first introduce to Squeak E. Clean when he produced the song "Hello Tomorrow" for Adidas with a little help from Yeah Yeah Yeah's Karen OSqueak E. Clean feat. Karen O - "Hello Tomorrow"

Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee