Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Don't Sleep On | Nikki Jean 'Cooking' Up An Amazing Debut Album With Help From Bob Dylan and Guests

Once in a blue moon, you hear an artist's voice that can make the clouds go away. Nikki Jean is one of those artists. Her smile can even bring rainbows. Last September, singer/songwriter Nikki Jean made a stop in Milwaukee to perform an intimate show at eastside coffee shop Rochambo.  Not familiar with the name Nikki Jean?  Well you should be, especially if you have heard Lupe Fiasco's "Hip Hop Save My Life."  Nikki was the guest vocalist on the track. 88Nine even plays her track called "Tell The Truth" produced by DC's Oddisee. 

A few months back, Nikki was signed to signed to S-Curve Records an imprint of Universal Records.  She is finally dropping her debut release entitled "Pennies In A Jar" on June 7. She worked with some amazing artists for her debut album including Bob Dylan, Burt Bacharach, Carly Simon, Carole King, and others.  The album also features Lupe Fiasco and Black Thought from The Roots. The album was produced by Sam Hollander (Katy Perry, Train, Tom Jones).  She is definitely artist to watch in 2011. Check out the tracklisting below.

1. How to Unring a Bell (Written by Thom Bell & Nikki Jean)

2. Steel and Feathers (Don’t Ever) (Written by Bob Dylan & Nikki Jean)

3. La Di Da Di Da (Written by Luigi Creatore & Nikki Jean)

4. My Love (Written by Lamont Dozier & Nikki Jean)

5. Pennies in a Jar (Written by Burt Bacharach & Nikki Jean)

6. What’s a Girl Supposed to Do (Written by Jeff Barry & Nikki Jean)

7. Rockaway (Written by Carole King & Nikki Jean)

8. Million Star Motel feat. Lupe Fiasco & Black Thought (Written by Bobby Braddock & Nikki Jean)

9. Patty Crash (Written by Paul Williams & Nikki Jean)

10. China (Written by Jimmy Webb & Nikki Jean)

11. Mercy of Love (Written by Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil & Nikki Jean)

12. Sex, Lies and Sunshine (Written by Carly Simon & Nikki Jean)

Besides music, She makes some amazing cookies and sells her creations via a website. She also created an amazing video blog, which you can watch here. I think I might have to order some cookies because they look really good!



Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee