Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Noname and Innanet James released two of best hip-hop albums of 2018

Noname Room 25

On last week's Rhythm Lab Radio, we played music from Madlib's Blue Notes records release, Jessy Lanza, a classic from Roy Ayers, the brother & sister duo Tennyson joined by Aloe Blacc, Janelle Monae collaborator Roman GianArthur and Kamasi Washington band member Brandon Coleman, Yussef Kamaal, Machinedrum. We also feature new tracks from Noname, Innanet James, Ciara, Four Fists (P.O.S. & Astronautilus) and a previously unreleased song from Prince.

Listen to the show below to hear these fresh tracks and check out our weekly Spotify playlist.

In the first hour, we featured brand new music from Noname's new album, "Room 25." The album is definitely a contender for best hip-hop album of 2018. Even Rolling Stone magazine called Noname "One of the best rappers alive." We played the tracks "Don't Forget About Me" and "Blaxploitation."

We also featured new music from Innanet James' new album, "Keep it Clean." The break-up concept album features guest appearances from Pusha-T, Kallitechnis, Taliwhoah and Rexx Life Raj. We featured the stand-out tracks "Better Without You" feat. Pusha T and "Memories" feat. Taliwhoah.

We also introduced a new band out of San Francisco by the name of Sis. We played the track "Gene" from their debut album "Euphorbia."



Nick Hakim - “Cuffed (Jamie Lidell Remix)” Yussef Kamaal - “Yo Chavez” L’Eclair - “Taishi Koto Pt. 1” Madlib - “Slim’s Return” Brandon Coleman - “A Letter To My Buggers” Sis - “Gene” Lianne La Havas - “What You Don’t Do (Tom Misch Remix)” Noname - “Don’t Forget About Me” Roman GianArthur - “Real Love, No Shade” Mac Miller - “We” feat. CeeLo Green Innanet James - “Better Without You” feat. Pusha T Akinyemi & Birocratic - “Dream On” Tennyson - “Body Language” feat. Aloe Blacc Prince - “Why The Butterflies”


Roy Ayers - “Everybody Loves The Sunshine (Hi Fidel Cartel Remix)” Ciara - “Dose” Full Crate - “Mogul” feat. Kao Four Fists - “G.D.F.R.” Cool Kids - “Gold and a Pager” Big Data - “Monster” feat. Jamie Lidell Machinedrum - “Do it 4 U (Daktyl Remix)” feat. DAWN Shy Luv - “Pharaohs (SBTRKT cover)” Innanet James - “Memories” feat. Taliwhoah Noname - “Blaxploitation” Kamaal vs Wu-Tang - “The Chessboxin Rhythm Commission” James Blake - “Timeless” feat. Vince Staples Hybrid Minds - “Leaving” Jessy Lanza - “It Means I Love You”

Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee