Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Listen to Rhythm Lab Radio's best jazz songs of 2019

In this episode of Rhythm Lab Radio, we highlighted some of our favorite jazz songs of 2019. These songs pushed the boundaries of jazz by incorporating other styles of music from hip-hop to Afrobeat to electronic music to soul.

We featured music from Abstract Orchestra, The Comet is Coming, Brandee Younger, KOKOROKO, Kassa Overall, Nerija, Moses Boyd, Erik Truffaz, Sarah Tandy, Angel Bat Dawid and more.

Listen to the show below.

It has been an exciting year for jazz. A new generation of musicians and artists from the corners of the globe are pushing the genre into new territories like the amazing scenes in London and Chicago.

For example, the London-based sextet Nerija signed to the label Domino Records, who is best known for releasing records from artists like Animal Collective, Blood Orange, Cat Power, and Middle Kids. The group put out the genre-defying debut album "Blume" back in August. The album exemplified this new era of jazz coming out of London with its ability to merge the sounds of afrobeat and hip-hop effortlessly and invite a new generation of fans into the fold.

In addition to Nerija, a multitude of other London artists dominated our best of 2019 including the high-energy and electronic-infused The Comet Is Coming. They made jazz for the dance clubs. Tracks like "Summon The Fire " and "Timewave Zero" are club bangers just as much as they are amazing jazz cuts.

Then stateside, Chicago is carrying the torch thanks to the label International Anthem that released "The Oracle" from future legend Angel Bat Dawid, who embodies the spirit of Sun Ra. Then there is the multi-talented Damon Locks Black Monument Ensemble. Their song "The Colors That You Bring" gives me goosebumps.

Check out the full show and tracklisting below.


Abstract Orchestra - “Meat Grinder”
Damon Locks Black Monument Ensemble - “The Colors That You Bring”
Emma-Jean Thackray - “Too Shy (12” version)”
Ronin Arkestra - “Tempestuous Temperaments”
The Comet is Coming - “Timewave Zero”
Dwight Trible - “Standing in the Need of Prayer”
Brandee Younger - “Games”
Hackney Colliery Band - Netsanet” feat. Mulatu Astatke
Ashley Henry - “COLORS”
Theo Croker - “Just Let It Ride”


Kassa Overall - “What’s New With You”
Angel Bat Dawid - “We Are Starzz”
Marquis Hill - “Wednesday Love” feat. Christie Dashiell
Shafiq Husayn - “Cycles” feat. Hiatus Kaiyote
Nerija - “Swift”
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah - “Forevergirl” feat. Chris Turner and Mike Larry Draw
Cochemea - “Mitote”
Jaimie Branch - “Simple Silver Surfer”
Joshua Redman Quartet - “How We Do”
Moses Boyd - “Stranger Than Fiction
Nate Mercereau - “There You Are”
Sarah Tandy - “Bradbury Street”
Erik Truffaz - “Reflections” feat. Jose James

Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee