Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

My Morning Jacket coming to Milwaukee in June, shares song from new album 'The Waterfall'

It's been around four years since we had a new album from the Louisville band My Morning Jacket.

The wait is over.

My Morning Jacket announced its new album The Waterfall today. It's their first album since 2011's Circuital.   The Waterfall will be released May 4.  From a press release about the new album:

The Waterfall sounds like history and decades colliding, like a record made by fervent music fans in search of that tingle up the spine. Inveterate music geeks will hear echoes of vintage rock and pop as MMJ continues to honor its influences without aping any of them; The Waterfall sounds like nothing else but also warmly familiar.

“That’s kind of the sound of this record, and my life, the sound of the page turning and not being sure what’s coming next,” said James.

 “The freedom we went into this record with took a lot of the pressure off, as far as what to do and how to do it,” Hallahan added. “The mantra was anything goes, no stone unturned, it’ll be done when it’s done.”

My Morning Jacket also shared the first single from the album called "Big Decisions." Take a listen at the bottom of this post. 

Along with the new album, My Morning Jacket will be touring and will stop at the Riverside Theater June 20.

Here is the track listing for The Waterfall:

  1. Believe (Nobody Knows)
  2. Compound Fracture
  3. Like A River
  4. In Its Infancy (The Waterfall)
  5. Get The Point
  6. Spring (Among the Living)
  7. Thin Line
  8. Big Decisions
  9. Tropics (Erase Traces)
  10. Only Memories Remain




Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee