Kiings, IshDarr, Webster X and 88Nine take home WAMI awards

Kiings, IshDarr, Webster X and 88Nine take home WAMI awards

640 427
88Nine Radio Milwaukee
36th annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry Awards were held in Appleton on April 17

Last night in Appleton, the Wisconsin Area Music Industry held its 36th annual awards ceremony at Appleton’s Performing Arts Center.  A few Milwaukee artists took home more than one award, including Kiings, which won Song of the Year for “Feel,” featuring Rae Cassidy and Best Club DJ/Dance/Electronic act.

Webster X picked up two WAMI awards — for Artist of the Year and Best Hip Hop/Rap Artist. Rising Milwaukee rapper IshDarr won for Best New Artist.

88Nine Radio Milwaukee picked up a People’s Choice Award for Best Radio Station, Southeast. See the entire list of winners below.

Artist of the Year: WebsterX

Album of the Year: Midnight Reruns, “Force of Nature”

Song of the Year: Kiings (featuring Rae Cassidy), “Feel”

Female Vocalist: Amileigha Blue

Male Vocalist: Rich Hoffman

New Artist: IshDARR

Singer/Songwriter: Jason Moon

Rising Star: Jason Roth

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist: The Lately

Bluegrass/Americana: The Ditchrunners

Blues Artist: The Blues Disciples

Christian/Gospel: Koine

Country Artist: Rebel Grace

Cover Artist: Boogie & the Yo Yo’z

Folk/Celtic: Whiskey of the Damned

Hard Rock/Metal: Red Light Saints and Evoked

Jazz Artist: Roxi Copland

Polka: Rhythm Playboys

Pop Rock Artist: Vinyl Theatre

Hip-hop/Rap Artist: WebsterX

R&B/Soul Artist: Shonn Hinton & Shotgun

World/Reggae/Ska: Max & the Invaders

Club DJ/Dance/Electronic: Kiings

Horn/Big Band: The Jimmys

Tribute Band: Metal Men

Bass Player: Timm Buechler

Drummer: Mark Marsh

Guitar Player: Brad Warning

Keyboard Player: Jamie Lynn Fletcher

Reeds/Brass Player: Stephen Cooper

Strings Player: Stephanie Tschech

Studio of the Year: Makin’ Sausage Music

Studio Engineer of the Year: Sam Farrell

Live Engineer Sound/Lights: Mike Freeland

Live Club/Venue: Headliner’s Bar & Grill

Hall of Fame inductees: Dave Steffen, Pee Wee King, Lyle Mays

Global Honorary Hall of Fame inductee: Styx


Artist: Hyde (Northeast), Spicy Tie Band (Northwest), Cowboy Up (Southeast), the Pat Watters Band (Southwest)

Fan: Kim Fleischman (Northeast), Roosevelt McCarter (Southeast), Christy Harvey (Southwest)

Radio: WIXX 101.1 (Northeast), WDEZ 101.9 (Northwest), 88.9 Radio Milwaukee (Southeast), 96.3 Star Country (Southwest)

Teacher: Jason Busse (Northeast), Charlene Kennebeck (Northwest), Derek Machan (Southeast), Kathy Wacker (Southwest)

Venue: Mill Creek (Northeast), Live on Main (Northwest), the Metal Grill (Southeast), Vinnie’s Rock Bottom (Southwest)