Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Mourning [A] BLKstar defines the sound of Afrofuturism

Mourning [A] BLKstar

On this episode of Rhythm Lab Radio, we featured new music from the Afrofuturistic collective Mourning BLKstar, a collaboration between serpentwithfeet and Ty Dolla $ign, future funk producer Yung Bae, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Percussionist Brijean Murphy (Toro Y Moi, Poolside, U.S. Girls), and more.

Thom Yorke, Mourning [A} BLKstar, Danay Saurez, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Chance The Rapper, serpentwithfeet, Rosie Lowe, Brijean, Yung Bae

One of the highlights of the show was new music from the Cleveland collective, Mourning BLKstar. Fronted by RA Washington, the band describes itself as a multi-generational, gender and genre non-conforming amalgam of Black Culture dedicated to servicing the stories and songs of the apocalyptic diaspora.

They recently released their third album "Reckoning," which is definitely one of my favorite albums of 2019 so far. Sonically, the album is one of the most diverse, unique and defining releases of the year. Their songs conjures up soul and funk artists like Rotary Connection and Funkadelic as well as the experimental production of the late J Dilla and the future sounds of musicians like Flying Lotus and Solange.



The Stepkids - "The Art of Forgetting"
Mourning Blkstar - "Harlem River Drive OG" BJ the Chicago Kid - "His Pain" feat. Kendrick Lamar Sarah White - "Fade (JTodd Remix)" Meakoom & Bare Beats - "Alone" Thom Yorke - "Impossible Knots" Taylor McFerrin - "The Antidote" feat. Nai Palm Jolly Mare & Stephen Bruner - "Vulnerable People" feat. Rudi Zygadlo Georgia Anne Muldrow - "Bass Attack Bap" Mayer Hawthorne - "The Game" Chance The Rapper - "14,400 Minutes" Danay - "Individual" Ali Shaheed Muhammad & Souls of Mischief - "There Is Only Now" serpentwithfeet - "Receipts" feat. Ty Dolla $ign James Blake - "Unluck" Saturn Never Sleeps - "Hearts on Fire"


Jazzanova - "That Night (Vikter Duplaix Remix)"
Brijean - "Show and Tell"
Silk Rhodes - "Face 2 Face"
Seven Davis Jr - "Wild Hearts"
Yung Bae - "You've Got Me"
fLako - "Kuku"
Slick Shoota - "Kik"
DJ Rashad - "Get It Shorty"
Africa Hitech - "Out In The Sheets"
Timbah - "Can't Love Without You (Lean Low Remix)"
Shy FX & T. Power - "Sheets" feat. Noel McCoy
Daedelus - "Fairweather Friend"
Mourning Blkstar - "Harms" Rosie Lowe - "How'd You Like It"

Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee