Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Listen to new music from DAWN, Sneaks, Branko, Emily King and more

DAWN's new breed comes out Jan. 25.
Courtesy of the artist
DAWN's new breed comes out Jan. 25.

On this episode of Rhythm Lab Radio, we featured new music from DAWN, rapper Boogie, HAELOS, Emily King, Injury Reserve, Nicola Cruz, Branko and Sneaks.

In the show, we start the new music from the new album, "New Breed" from Dawn Richards, aka DAWN.

Following her acclaimed trilogy of solo albums, electronic R&B innovator DAWN (formerly Dawn Richard) returns with new breed, a new album that dates back to her upbringing in New Orleans, taking in the city’s rich traditions and musical heritage.

A former member of cult R&B groups Dirty Money and Danity Kane, DAWN has worked with everyone from Diddy and Drake to Machinedrum, Kimbra and Dirty Projectors across her unique career, and has constantly redefined what an independent black female artist can achieve without major label backing.

Then, we paid tribute to keyboardist Edwin Birdsong, who recently passed away at the age of 77. Birdsong blended jazz, funk and soul to create a style that was ahead of its time. Artists from Daft Punk, De La Soul and Gang Starr have sampled his music.

We also featured one of the most exciting artists of 2019 by the name of Sneaks. We featured a track from her amazing new album, "Highway Hypnosis." Think Nirvana meets MIA meets Public Enemy meets Aaliyah.

'Highway Hypnosis' plays on hip-hop, post-punk, and invented words to fill a gap between the feminist underground and genre-specific singles charts. Through it, Moolchan joins the resistance forged by queer black feminists who create, explore, empower, conquer, and play bass. - Merge Records

Then the hip-hop group Injury Reserve blessed us with crazy banger titled "Jawbreaker" featuring rising artist Rico Nasty.

And to round out the batch of new tracks was the fresh sounds of producer Branko, who enlisted Sango and UK singer Cosmia for a warm and sensual tune called "Hear From You."


Saint Tiimbre - “Are You That Somebody” One Little Plane - “She Was Out in The Water” Nick Mulvey - “The Trellis” Werkha - “Shakedown Radio” feat. Bryony Jarman-Pinto Soil & Pimp Sessions - “Love Immediately” Boogie - “Time” feat. Snoh Aalegra DAWN - “new breed” HÆLOS - "Kyoto" Outkast - “Chonkyfire” Edwin Birdsong - “Rapper Dapper Snapper” Shamir - “Head In The Clouds” Romare - “Rainbow (Club)” Anderson .Paak - “Right There” Emily King - “Caliche" Beats International - “Dub Be Good To Me” Sneaks - “The Way It Goes” Injury Reserve - “Jawbreaker” feat. Rico Nasty & Pro Teens Zion I - “Juggernaut” Too Many Zooz - “D.N.” Shy FX - “Plastic Soul” Utah Jazz & Alex Reece - “Everything is Everything” Strafe - “Set It Off” Nicola Cruz - “Criancada (con Castello Branco)” Branko & Sango - “Hear From You” feat. Cosima Apparat - “DAWAN” Nite Jewel - “Don’t Turn Me Away” feat. Zoe Kravitz & Samantha Urbani Patchworks - “Brothers On the Slide (Brooklyn Mix)”

Director of Digital | Radio Milwaukee